Onlingo rating
Raluca Olaru
Diploma type Certificate
Speaks French, Italian
Teaching experience (years) 6

Teaches

15€/60 minutes
14€/60 minutes
12€/60 minutes

About me

Translate tutor profile
Hi My name is Raluca Olaru and I am a certified ESL teacher from Canada with 6 years of experience working both in the classroom and online. I've been teaching students of all ages and levels, from beginning to advanced. I taught English in Turkey, Spain, and Romania. Since September 2014, I have been living and working in Italy. My hobbies are: travelling, hiking, taking photos, rollerblading, dancing, and reading. I believe the most effective way to feel comfortable and confident with learning English is to enjoy having conversations with a teacher who guides students in lessons that are fun and interesting, with plenty of congratulations and corrections where necessary! I am friendly motivated, funny and more importantly patient.
read more

Previous experience

Along with my TESOL/TESL certification from Oxford Seminars, my Master’s degree in Geology & Geophysics, about six years of being an English teacher, and 50 hours of being an English tutor volunteer for Adult Basic Literacy Education at Bow Valley College, Calgary, Canada. I am certain in my capability of helping my students to improve their English. I feel that my greatest strengths are my ability to understand and meet the needs of individual students, as well as having a clear understanding of the importance of confidentiality and being able to provide a stimulating, caring and consistent environment for pupils. I am passionate about the English language and keenly interested in helping students become high achievers. I possess a fun-filled personality as well as effective teaching skills which motivate students towards learning. I also have a demonstrated ability to assess student potential accurately.

Teaching Methodology

In my lessons, my students won’t memorize long lists of vocabulary and verbs. Instead, my students and I will discuss interesting topics and practice language which they actually want to use. Moreover, I have experience preparing students for Cambridge exams from starter all the way up to C1 and helping students with professional needs such as: presentations and technical vocabulary thanks to my Master Degree in Geology and Geophysics and work experience in oil and gas industry. I have an excellent track record in improving students’ fluency and confidence with using English in real life situations. For these reasons, I hope to see you in the classroom.

Specialisations

  • Children ( 6-12 y.o )
  • Teenagers (13 – 18 y.o)
  • Beginners
  • Work & Travel
  • Speaking
  • Cambridge exams
  • Adults
Fri 09
Sat 10
Sun 11
Mon 12
Tue 13
Wed 14
Thu 15
00 - 04
04 - 08
08 - 12
12 - 16
16 - 20
20 - 24
Based on your timezone (UTC) Coordinated Universal Time
Book free lesson Book now Contact